School Ethics Commission Special Meeting Public Session Minutes

February 13, 2024

Chairperson Bender called the regularly scheduled meeting of the School Ethics Commission (Commission or SEC) to order at 9:30 a.m.

Notice of the regularly scheduled meeting was provided to the State House Press Corps and the Secretary of State, and filed as required by the Open Public Meetings Act.

I. Roll Call

| Roll Call | Robert Bender | Michael Carucci | Mark Finkelstein | Dennis Roberts | Carol E. Sabo | Richard Tomko | Total |
|--------------|------------------|--------------------|---------------------|-------------------|------------------|------------------|-------|
| Present | X | | X | X | X | | 4 |
| Absent | | X | | | | X | 2 |

Also, in attendance were Brigid C. Martens, Director, Office of School Ethics; Jeannine Pizzigoni, staff member; and Amna Toor, Deputy Attorney General (DAG). Everyone in attendance at the meeting participated by telephone/video.

II. First Public Comment

There were not any members of the public in attendance at the meeting.

III. Executive Session

At 9:32 a.m., the following Resolution was read:

Whereas, the Open Public Meetings Act (*N.J.S.A.* 10:4-6 *et seq.*) authorizes the Commission, a public body, to meet in Executive Session under certain circumstances; and

Whereas, the Open Public Meetings Act requires that the Commission adopt a Resolution at a public meeting to go into Executive Session; and

Now therefore be it resolved that, consistent with the provisions of *N.J.A.C.* 10:4-12(b), the Commission will adjourn to Executive Session to discuss matters which, by statute, are regarded as confidential and also to discuss matters possibly involving litigation: C82-22; and

Now therefore be it further resolved that the Commission will return to open session to conduct business at the conclusion of Executive Session.

Motion was made by Dennis Roberts, and seconded by Carol E. Sabo, to adjourn to Executive Session to discuss the matters set forth in the foregoing Resolution.

Vote

| Vote | Robert Bender | Michael Carucci | Mark Finkelstein | Dennis Roberts | Carol E. Sabo | Richard Tomko | Total |
|------------|------------------|--------------------|---------------------|-------------------|------------------|------------------|-------|
| Yes | X | X | | X | X | | 4 |
| No | | | | | | | 0 |
| Abstention | | | | | | | 0 |

IV. Return to Public

At **9:46 a.m.**, a motion was made by Dennis Roberts, and seconded by Carol E. Sabo, to return to public session for the purpose of receiving public comment/testimony, and to vote on matters discussed in Executive Session (as appropriate).

Vote

| Vote | Robert Bender | Michael Carucci | Mark Finkelstein | Dennis Roberts | Carol E. Sabo | Richard Tomko | Total |
|------------|------------------|--------------------|---------------------|-------------------|------------------|------------------|-------|
| Yes | X | | X | X | X | | 4 |
| No | | | | | | | 0 |
| Abstention | | | | | | | 0 |

V. Decisions to Adopt

C82-22 Motion was made by Dennis Roberts, and seconded by Carol E. Sabo, to adopt the decision as written.

Vote

| Vote | Robert Bender | Michael Carucci | Mark Finkelstein | Dennis Roberts | Carol E. Sabo | Richard Tomko | Total |
|------------|------------------|--------------------|---------------------|-------------------|------------------|------------------|-------|
| Yes | X | | X | X | X | | 4 |
| No | | | | | | | 0 |
| Abstention | | | | | | | 0 |

VI. Second Public Comment

The were not any members of the public in attendance at the second public session of the meeting.

VII. Adjournment

At 9:46 a.m., a motion was made by Dennis Roberts, and seconded by Carik E, Sabo, to adjourn.

Vote

| Vote | Robert Bender | Michael Carucci | Mark Finkelstein | Dennis Roberts | Carol E. Sabo | Richard Tomko | Total |
|------------|------------------|--------------------|---------------------|-------------------|------------------|------------------|-------|
| Yes | X | | X | X | X | | 4 |
| No | | | | | | | 0 |
| Abstention | | | | | | | 0 |

| Submitted by: | |
|---|--|
| Jeannine Pizzigoni | |
| Approved by: | |
| Brigid C. Martens, Director School Ethics Commission | |